Simon’s Backup Weblog


Useful Firefox extension of the day: Read It Later

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on November 11, 2007

I’ve just started using a really useful browser extension.

I’d used to keep a Temporary folder in my bookmarks, where I’d keep links I wanted to read later. However, to be honest, it got clogged up, or just plain forgotten about.

Friday I came across Read It Later. It’s a really simple idea – it just adds a new option to the browser’s right click menu, and a couple of extra buttons in the menu bar.

Right click Read it later instead of opening a link (or click the Read Later button in the toolbar when you’re on a page), and the page is added to the Reading List. When you want to read the page, just click on the Reading List drop down, and when you’re done click the Mark as Read button to remove from the list and add to any of a whole host of bookmarking services (including Firefox’s own…).

Simple, and sensible.

Now all I want it is a synchronisation web service, so I can access the same Read It Later bookmarks from my laptop and my desktop.

11 Responses to 'Useful Firefox extension of the day: Read It Later'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Useful Firefox extension of the day: Read It Later'.

  1. codepope said,

    What it should do is manage a folder of actual bookmarks (and hide support data in the description), then it would automatically sync with whatever bookmark sync you had set up.

  2. kevinwmoor said,

    Thanks for that — most useful.

  3. andrewducker said,

    Would be nice if it opened them in new tabs rather than overwriting the one I was using…

  4. anonymous said,

    This looks good. My bookmarks get rather untidy because I’m using them for just this temporary purpose. Thanks for finding it.

  5. lamentables said,

    Oooh, now there’s something that might stop me having 30+ tabs open at once. Thanks.

  6. lamentables said,

    Hmmmm, that wasn’t very successful.
    After a long list of glitches I’ve uninstalled it and I’m relying on my brain to recreate the list of tabs I had open, nearly half of which are currently awol.

  7. anonymous said,

    That way it’s the same list from anywhere, and you can also add “towatch, todo” tags, and share it with contacts you might like it…?

    There’s a handy Firefox extension for that too…

    Cheers, Armand

  8. sbisson said,

    It’s not really the way I used to use del.icio.us, and I have to admit, I’ve sadly neglected my account there over the last year.

    I tend to use a lot of bookmarks for article research, so I don’t really want to spam the world with 500 pages on SaaS, or a drill down into the depths of Popfly block building…

    (So I do use the TabMix Plus save sessions feature a lot)

  9. sbisson said,

    Sorry 😦

  10. sbisson said,

    That would be a good way for it to work…

  11. lamentables said,

    Oh, I wasn’t complaining at you, I just thought you should know. I am disappointed though, because it’s a good idea 🙂


Leave a Reply

