Simon’s Backup Weblog


Not Dead

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on September 13, 2007

Though sadly my laptop is…

Some jerk sat in front of me on a flight the other day slammed his seat back into the screen of my trusty tablet, rendering it rather dead. It still works, but only when the screen’s at an impossible angle. However there is a shiny lining to this cloud, as the folk at HP have loaned me one of their really quite lovely new ultraportable tablets. It is, as they say, “teh shiny”. So, after a couple of days of reconfiguring stuff, I’m back on line.

So, Seattle: the weather’s lovely, and I’ve been taking lots of photographs of the mountains in between meetings. We’ve been up the top of the Olympics, and to both high access points on Mount Ranier

Also, in other good news, after many moons of searching I managed to find a green laser pointer for a silly low price in a branch of Frys. ‘s cats are now most exercised. The laser’s 5mW is enough to pump the ruby in ‘s engagement ring – so it’s now an engagement laser in its own right…

I’ve also got my paws on the anti-iPhone, an OpenMoko device. It’s rather lovely, though not ready for the end user yet. I’ll be writing about it for various places, so keep your eyes peeled!

Normal service to be resumed shortly.

5 Responses to 'Not Dead'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Not Dead'.

  1. mdlbear said,

    I’ll be interested to hear how — and what — you’re doing with the OpenMoko. I haven’t had much chance to play with mine yet, and it’s not really functional as a phone yet.

  2. whumpdotcom said,

    How does one make a call on those things? Open a terminal and run call with a huge argument list?

  3. daveon said,

    Let me know how long you’re here.

  4. mdlbear said,

    Until they got the dialer app working reliably you had to send an ATDT string to the GSM daemon, but these days it’s a GUI app just like any other touchscreen-based smartphone.

  5. tanais said,

    Travel Insurance?

    Several more words: See you in San Francisco on or around the 26th when I arrive?


Leave a Reply

