Simon’s Backup Weblog


Word pimpage: not-an-iphone

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on August 15, 2007

My first piece of work at Tom’s Hardware‘s Gear Digest site in the US is a review of the HTC Touch, one of a large number of finger-touch devices that are beginning to appear:

You might not be able to tell from the advertisements, but the Apple iPhone isn’t the first smartphone with a touch screen. HTC has been making Windows Mobile phones since they were PDAs with add-on GSM cards, under a variety of brands, and many of them have been touch screen phones. But the new HTC Touch is the closest thing to an iPhone running Windows Mobile, which means a huge range of applications are already available for it, and there’s a CDMA version on the way this year. Has the little Taiwanese smartphone development house managed to beat Apple to the punch, or has it lost its touch?

HTC’s new TouchFlo user interface is what prompts most of the comparisons with the iPhone. Certainly there are similarities, in that both are designed to work with your finger rather than a stylus. However that’s where the similarities end. The iPhone uses a multi-touch screen that lets you use two fingers to zoom and detects when it’s against your face or in your pocket. The Touch is still using the more common (and much cheaper) single-touch screens that have been a standard feature on PDA phones for a while.

Read more here.

6 Responses to 'Word pimpage: not-an-iphone'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Word pimpage: not-an-iphone'.

  1. ccomley said,

    Hmm. I hate band-wagonning, so I’m definitly not drooling over iPhone. But if I did buy one, one Big selling point would be that it was not Windoze Mobile. For which I *just* can’t see the attraction.

    Actually, what I really want is still a decent Palm based phone. I liked everything about the Treo except the poor reliablity.

  2. lostcarpark said,

    Nice work.

    Looks like an interesting device let down by poor software (mostly due to the limitations of WinCE). Has anyone ported Linux to it yet?

  3. therealdrhyde said,

    Yeah, surprised to see no mention of the Palm.

    I find my Treo 680 to be very reliable. The only times it crashes is when I’m running third-party *beta* software, like the ssh client that warns me on startup that it hasn’t been adequately tested.

    Or of course when I’m running my own rubbish on it 🙂

  4. andrewducker said,

    Have you looked at the Nokia smartphones? I like my N80 a lot, and am looking forward to getting an N95 when I review my contract.

  5. ccomley said,

    I did look in passing. Trouble is – I don’t really want a “smart”phone. Too bulky. Unwieldy. And “regular” phones do 99% of what I’d ever want.

    I plumped for the W850i becuse S/E were the ONLY people who were prepared to ask my very basic question – which is – *if* I use my phone as an MP3 player for a fairly typical 60-90 minutes on the way to work in the morning (a) will it have enough battery life left to use as a regular phone all day and (b) still have enough battery life left to use as an MP3 player for 60-90 mins commute home?

    Sony said yes, of course, their battery management system ensures it.

    All the others said – we dunno.

    The sony is an excellent MP3 player, BTW. 1Gb of smart card pro, though it’ll go up to 8, which is more than enough for the odd train journey.

    I’m a bit disappointed in its phone-ability. Mostly that it does the random stuff when in your pocket thing. I picked a slide phone so it’s locked when its closed but it ONLY locks if it’s in “neutral” when you close it, if it’s in any menu/function screen at all it stays unlocked. It also unlocks itself if it receives a call or message.

  6. andrewducker said,

    If you don’t want a smartphone why do you want a Palm based phone?


Leave a Reply

