Simon’s Backup Weblog


In our other blog…

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on August 3, 2007

…a rant about the abomination that is the BBC iPlayer.

I’ll hold my hand up and admit it. I thought the BBC iPlayer was going to be a good idea. I wasn’t too fussed about the DRM – the regulatory environment the BBC has to work with wouldn’t have let it do anything else. All I wanted was a way to watch my favourite shows on a laptop halfway over the Atlantic.

I got on the the beta last week, along with pretty much everyone who’d signed up. I should have given up as soon as I got the convoluted installation instructions in my email. Go to this site, enter this password, download this application, go back to download a program, install an ActiveX control, start again, and then wait for the slowest P2P download ever to deliver a copy of Top Gear to my hard disk. Oh, and then not to get the right licenses so I couldn’t actually watch the programme I’d downloaded. No Jeremy and No Star in Moderately Priced Car for me…

Read more at IT Pro.

And another thing – enough with the letter “i-” prefixing everything that’s meant to work with internet. It was cute with the iMac, but that was 1998. I thought we’d learnt our lesson last bubble with “e-” this that and the other…

12 Responses to 'In our other blog…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'In our other blog…'.

  1. moral_vacuum said,

    May I also put in a vote for people using a spurious “@”?

    Btw: Once upon a time back in the dim, distant days of late 1999, I was responsible for one of the most egregious uses of “e-” ever written, used in a Ministerial speech. Next time I see you I’ll inflict it upon you.

  2. sbisson said,

    Sunday?

  3. moral_vacuum said,

    Tonbridge.

  4. sbisson said,

    Done!

  5. andrewducker said,

    Don’t know if you saw this:
    http://johnbobshaun.livejournal.com/118263.html

  6. celestialweasel said,

    Yes, I don’t understand why it is not a proper app rather than a half arsed mix of app, ActiveX and web page.
    I also think there will be tears before bedtime (and front pages of the Daily Mail) unless, when it’s rolled out properly, it says in big letters as the number one thing that it’s a P2P thing that will eat some of your bandwidtch.
    Apart from, as I said on my LJ, the fun and games when the world’s largest botnet is constructed from all the iPlayer clients.

  7. sbisson said,

    Oh wonderful – delightfully Stob-like!

  8. sbisson said,

    Oh yes.

  9. marypcb said,

    Noon. High Noon…

  10. nerdware said,

    Online ActiveX controls are toxic.

  11. nerdware said,

    Never mind the requirement for enabling JS before your excellent rant can be read. Don’t – just don’t – get me started on Javascript!

  12. anonymous said,

    enter text? test, sorry

    dfdf767df


Leave a Reply

