Simon’s Backup Weblog


Sometimes buying new hardware is the right thing to do

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on July 29, 2007

I took advantage of John Lewis’ technology clearance shelves in their Peter Jones store yesterday, and spent £25 on a new DSL router for the house network.

While switch to DSL Max a while back had sped up our network connection a fair bit, I wasn’t entirely sure that we were getting the best out of the available connection. To be honest, the fact that Linksys hadn’t fixed the VPN bug in there firmware which meant that a PPTP connection wouldn’t traverse the NAT mappings was also a problem. So when I saw a D-Link DSL-G624T for not very much at all, I decided it was worth trying a swap out. After all, this was a router that was designed for ADSL 2+ connections, instead of my old ADSL 2 hardware.

Setting up the new router wasn’t quite as easy as my previous Zyxel and Linksys devices, but once I’d understood how it mapped NAT connections for my servers, I was able to get it up and running in fairly short order. While web pages seemed a little snappier, it wasn’t until I decided to download a DVD image from the US that I saw things had really improved – I was getting sustained download speeds of over 750KB/s, rather than the (still respectable) 400-500KB/s I’d been getting before.

I think I managed to get a little bit of a bargain there.

7 Responses to 'Sometimes buying new hardware is the right thing to do'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Sometimes buying new hardware is the right thing to do'.

  1. mdlbear said,

    try http://www.speedtest.net/

  2. sbisson said,

  3. megadog said,

    Thats the same router as I’m using. Be aware that it’s not quite as connection-robust in the face of thunderstorms as my old Linksys WAG-54G was: I’ve had to power-cycle the D-Link a few times after a bad night, but never had to do this with the Linksys.

    Of course this might not be a problem for you if your phone lines are underground: my line comes across the valley on overhead lines so is rather more susceptible to aerial malign-influences.

  4. sbisson said,

    I keep my routers on the poor mans UPS – a time switch…

  5. kensei said,

    Does this beastie support NAT and non-NAT addressing simultaneously? The only one I’ve found so far that does is the Draytek, which I am (still) rather fond of.

  6. mdlbear said,

    A little faster downstream than me, but only a bit over half the speed going up.

  7. lproven said,

    “There firmware”? Tsk tsk!

    Still on 8Mb DLS1 here. My home LAN is 10Mb cheapernet, ‘cos it’s cheaper & I don’t want a house full of either cables /or/ switches. Tight? Moi?

    Could I interest Sir in a meetup at the GBBF in a couple of weeks, at all?


Leave a Reply

