Simon’s Backup Weblog


160 Characters.

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on July 23, 2007

No more, no less. Today (as I’ve said elsewhere) is the 15th birthday of SMS. It’s surprising what you can say in a message: it could be a throw away comment or something important. But it’s said.

4 Responses to '160 Characters.'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to '160 Characters.'.

  1. daveon said,

    I used to work with the guy who received the first message. He’s still the owner of the SMS portion of the GSM standard. He even has the same phone number. Although they’ve added some stuff on the front of it, it still ends in 00000.

  2. nerdware said,

    I don’t use SMS myself, not having the requisite gadget, but I know people who like to send short pithy msgs. E.g. “knockers”.

  3. megadog said,

    Must confess, when many years ago someone first showed me sending a SMS on a cellphone, I looked on in abject disbelief at the whole process. Restricted message-length and a truly-baroque way of actually entering the text – it just couldn’t catch on, now could it?

    Well, I was proved wrong – and so missed out on a seriously profitable slice of the action.

    Same goes for mobe ringtones: that was an idea whose ability to be monetized I utterly failed to appreciate despite Simon Buckingham’s best efforts.

  4. daveon said,

    I can’t necessarily blame you for finding Simon Buckinham’s best efforts a little unlikely. I always found him unpersausive, even when we were trying to do business together.


Leave a Reply

