Simon’s Backup Weblog


And to think I was out in that…

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on July 3, 2007

I was just walking back from a meeting with one of the developers of PHP, when there was a sustained barrage of thunder, and the heavens opened. I’ve only been in rain like that a couple of times, once one hot summer in Chelmsford and again the other week driving up Florida’s Turnpike as a set of thunderstorms rolled in off the hot Atlantic.

My cameraphone shots of the flash floods on the South Circular were, as most cameraphone shots are, pretty crap. We shouldn’t expect much from them, as the cameraphone is the modern day equivalent of the Kodak Instamatic…


Sheltering under an awning, getting even wetter


Flooding on the South Circular

However the BBC News site has a slideshow of images from around South West London.

5 Responses to 'And to think I was out in that…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'And to think I was out in that…'.

  1. autopope said,

    We’ve had thunderstorms in Edinburgh for three of the past five days.

  2. sbisson said,

    Ditto here. However this was something exceptional.

  3. madcatwoman said,

    As cameraphone pics go, I think they’re better than average and I particularly like the “bow wave” in the second one. It reminds me of a somewhat hairy drive home from work last week…

  4. bibliofile said,

    Actually, I used to get quite decent pictures from my Kodak Instamatic, which was nearly indestructible and accompanied me on many camping and canoe trips.

  5. bibliofile said,

    i.e., there’s still a place in the world for stuff like that


Leave a Reply

