Simon’s Backup Weblog


Flashing

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on June 22, 2007

I’ve given up waiting for the various mobile operators to live up to their promises and put out Windows Mobile 6 updates. So I’ve been out and about the internets and found a copy of a ROM for the HTC TyTN family of devices, all packaged up along with a ROM loader. That’s the underlying platform for a SPV M3100 I had lying around, so I figured it was well worth the try. The various forums at the XDA-Developers site have lots of useful information for anyone planning a DIY upgrade, and the information there got me up and running in no time at all. Now to reinstall software and tweak the phone just the way I want it…

On a side note I’ve also found an add-in that’ll give my Blackberry Pearl HTML mail support – so if you’re using a Blackberry and want to get away from seeing rather ugly messages in your inbox you could do worse than fire up your Blackberry’s browser and pop along to the OTA download page.

Leave a Reply

