Simon’s Backup Weblog


Mashing it through the Pipes

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on April 24, 2007

I’m in the middle of the final stages of coding a hefty AJAX-based mashup application, that works with multiple sites and services (five at the last count). I have to say, Yahoo! Pipes makes the job a lot easier, as it lets me take an RSS feed and render it as JSON – which means I can do a cross-domain mashup using the JSON callback hack.

It took me quite a while to realise that Pipes was the fix I needed. If I wasn’t doing it all hosted on a Software as Service platform, I’d be using Flex or writing my own proxy code to deal with the cross domain issues. I toyed with a Dojo approach, but its cross domain hack requires more control of the originating service than I had – seeing as it’s a weather feed that just takes a URL with latitude and longitude. The Flash proxy approach might have worked if the remote site had a crossdomain.xml file, but it didn’t…

Still, I’m pleased that I have finally broken the back of a problem that’s been bugging me for the last few days.

So that’s Salesforce.com as a data source and host, Google Local for geocoding, Google maps for mapping and information display, Weatherbug for location-based weather RSS, and Pipes to convert RSS into JSON. An interesting combination, showing that Web 2.0 is as much a business tool as a consumer technology.

2 Responses to 'Mashing it through the Pipes'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Mashing it through the Pipes'.

  1. ciphergoth said,

    So when does Yahoo! Tubes come out? 🙂

  2. jaq said,

    That ‘JSON callback hack’ reminded me of this ‘vulnerability’. Not quite the same, in that the former is using an explicit callback function, but it does make me wonder if fixes to prevent the latter will affect the one you are using.


Leave a Reply

