Simon’s Backup Weblog


Be excellent to each other!

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on April 19, 2007

One of the cool things about my job is getting to meet interesting people and talking about fascinating technologies.

It probably hasn’t escaped your attention that one of my favourite technologies of the moment is Adobe’s Apollo (read my hefty pieces on it in upcoming issues of Web Designer and PC Plus), and today I spent some time talking to Adobe’s Mike Downey about what’s happening with Apollo and where Adobe sees it going (his blog is available as ).

One of the things we talked about was San Dimas*, eBay’s Apollo-based client application. It’s a cracking piece of code, and you can now sign up to get onto the public beta when it rolls out over the next month or so. I had a play with it, and I have to say it’s the most intuitive way of working with eBay I’ve found. It makes it easy to both sell and bid – and you can even use it with a web cam to quickly upload pictures of an item.

I’m firmly convinced that cross platform development tools like Apollo are the future of desktop applications – especially when you can convert a Flex-based server application into Apollo in less than two days (quicker for pure HTML/AJAX applications), and developers don’t need to work with separate installers, windowing solutions and file systems for each OS they work with. Apollo means one code base will work on the web, on OS X, on Windows and on Linux. That’s a huge saving in time and money for any development team.

When the Flash and Dreamweaver Apollo plug-ins come out later this year, things are going to get even easier – especially as you’ll be able to go straight from a Photoshop illustration to an Apollo application…

Microsoft is going to have to get the .NET Micro Framework into Silverlight sharpish to even start to compete here.

*Are and I the only people to spot the Bill and Ted reference in the name?

9 Responses to 'Be excellent to each other!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Be excellent to each other!'.

  1. ajshepherd said,

    Party on, dude!

    Gosh, where DO they get their ideas for these names. Oh wait…

  2. andrewducker said,

    I was momentarily tempted to download Flex and give it a go.

    And then I noticed that it was $499.

    Which kinda knocks the hobbyist market out.

    Oh well.

  3. sbisson said,

    Actually one of the cool things is that you can use the free SDK and the text or HTML editor of choice…. You don’t even need to write MXML or ActionScript code, you can just use HTML/AJAX/CSS.

    So the hobbyist market is served quite happily!

  4. andrewducker said,

    Write code in a text editor?

    You want me to give up the IDE?

    Really?

  5. sbisson said,

    Actually there’s stuff that I don’t know if I’m allowed to talk about coming.

    Lets just say I understand that dog food is being eaten. But not inside Adobe…

  6. andrewducker said,

    I’m sure someone will come out with an alternative at some point. If it a “standard” then other people will write their own IDE, and open source things will appear, as they tend to.

    Which will be something to look forward to.

  7. anonymous said,

    Hi,

    I’m the product manager for San Dimas — thanks for the nice blog entry! I can’t say you are the only person to notice the Bill and Ted reference – but I’m surprised that more people haven’t noted it 🙂

    Alan Lewis
    eBay
    http://www.projectsandimas.com

  8. sbisson said,

    Cheers! I’ll be mentioning it in another DevReg piece on Apollo in a few days 🙂

  9. saffronrose said,

    I never saw B&TEA, but I used to drive through that town all the time on my way to work…from Claremont to the Mid-Wilshire district (well, my carpool driver did), and to two points in Pasadena (occasionally pronounced Pasad-na), where I first used the net.


Leave a Reply

