Simon’s Backup Weblog


Well, that was relatively painless…

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on April 12, 2007

The hard drive on my tablet PC has been throwing up bad block errors and making strange clicking noises for a while. Those aren’t good signs…

It all meant one thing: time for a new drive.

Notebook hard drives have been both notoriously hard to fit and notoriously expensive. That’s a set of myths I’m happy to blow away. Not only did a 100GB Seagate drive (with all the anti-shock features you want in a laptop) cost around £50 with postage, it slotted into the notebook with ease. One crew to undo the drive bay, another four for the carrier. One thing to note – it pays to shop around a bit for drives. Some of the usual suspects have limited (and expensive) stock. I ended up at an old favourite, RL Supplies, who got me the drive in just over 24 hours from placing the order.

I didn’t bother imaging the old disk. For one thing, I use my notebook as a local cache of files I keep on the server, and for another, Toshiba had just come out with a set of Vista drivers for my machine. That meant there was no need to hack together a system using Toshiba’s drivers for the related M400, and no more downloading hacked versions of the Nvidia video drivers.

So I just went for a completely fresh install. I plugged in the portable DVD drive, and pulled out my MSDN disks. Everything went on in a couple of hours, including Office, and the machine has just finished happily snarfling data off the server.

Next, I need to install some of my usual applications. Firefox first, then Semagic and the Flickr Uploadr. And that should just be about it. I can’t think of anything else that I really need on the road. Well, apart from Geometry Wars…

One Response to 'Well, that was relatively painless…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Well, that was relatively painless…'.

  1. rdmaughan said,

    One crew to undo the drive bay, another four for the carrier.

    Do you have to pay the crew? Five crews would seem rather expensive.


Leave a Reply

