Simon’s Backup Weblog


Blackberry Pearl Lessons #3

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on March 22, 2007

One of the reasons I haven’t been writing here much over the last few days is that I managed to get a large splinter under my right thumb nail. Once it was removed, I found that any pressure on the thumb was extremely painful. That wasn’t pleasant at all, but it’s finally starting to heal.

However, the trackball on the Pearl is rather dependent on thumb operation, especially when working one handed. I found that it was very difficult for me to transfer right-handed reflexes to my left – which at one point led me to deleting mail off the Pearl that I’d rather have left on the device… I suspect that the same would have been true for anyone going from left to right as well, but it’s an user interface quirk that I hadn’t expected.

In other news I’m slowly beginning to pick up on the keypad shortcuts for navigation, only to come a cropper when an application doesn’t support them. Newsgator’s pocket RSS reader is an excellent application (which keeps in sync with my desktop reader), but you need to use the trackball to scroll through pages rather than using the familiar “3” and “9” page up/page down short cuts. Instead the keys move you between articles. Inconsistent use of system short cuts is not a good idea.

I’ve also been able to turn some of these thoughts into a magazine column, so that’s an unexpected usage!

One Response to 'Blackberry Pearl Lessons #3'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Blackberry Pearl Lessons #3'.

  1. maetang said,

    Ouf and ouch! Splinters under the nails are like a classic torture device! Glad to hear you got it removed, and your thumb’s starting to hear. And hey, it’s great that you got a column out of the experience. :^)


Leave a Reply

