Simon’s Backup Weblog


Detective Work

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on February 24, 2007

The other morning the postman tried to deliver a couple of parcels. This morning I walked down to the Post Office to pick them up. There were two, identical cardboard boxes that were quite large, but very light. I opened one and found a giant (and I by that I mean really really big) paper clip. Oh, and a URL.

Who’d sent it and why?

I went to the web page, and just got a teaser announcement for something due at the beginning of March.

So time for a little detective work. My favourite online Whois service came up with a domain owner, and Google quickly found their site. There was a list of clients, many familiar, and one new one.

I suspect the newest client – the font on the web site looks like one of theirs – but I can’t be sure. I guess I’ll find out in a few days when I get a followup email or phone call.

With the tools around I wonder how difficult it is to run a teaser campaign like this. You’d have to know that it’s easy to find out that you set up the domain (in fact I was surprised that it was in a company name – I’d thought that a simple cut-out by having a member of staff register it in their name should thwart most look-up attempts), and you’d have to know that the client list on your web site would be the first place that someone would look…

One Response to 'Detective Work'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Detective Work'.

  1. tanais said,

    kill clippy


Leave a Reply

