Simon’s Backup Weblog


Making A Firm (Phone) Decision

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on February 22, 2007

I ordered a new phone today.

I’ve gone for a Blackberry Pearl (after all, you all know how much I liked it when I reviewed it), and have chosen a T-Mobile Flext package, with added Web’n’Walk, as well as Blackberry email. I’ll hook up T-Mobile’s BIS to point at my mail server, as I know that all works well – I’ve been reviewing some other Blackberry kit on T-mobile recently.

When the phone arrives tomorrow I’ll give them my PAC, and should stay on my current number.

One thing I need to check up on (as I don’t quite believe it), is the cost of Blackberry data when roaming. This page seems to imply that it’s only 0.73p/kB when in the US. Which makes leaving email on when I’m travelling quite affordable.

Thanks for the advice. AKICILJ indeed.

One Response to 'Making A Firm (Phone) Decision'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Making A Firm (Phone) Decision'.

  1. nalsa said,

    It is the data costs which really put me off getting a Blackberry. I love the idea, but I know that when I was away from my desk I was getting hammered with GPRS charges pretty much every time I turned my Treo on…


Leave a Reply

