Simon’s Backup Weblog


Speed, speedier, and speediest…

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on December 2, 2006

Thanks to those nice people at Merula we’re now on ADSL Max, and are getting an order of magnitude more speed than our old 512/256 DSL connection. I’ve also just replaced the main house switch with an unmanaged gigabit beastie from D-Link that works rather well, and gives me a few more free ports for future expansion.

So, things are currently looking a little like this:


It’s rather nice being able to download a DVD image from a software company on the west coast of the US in under an hour. (Something I have had to do several times this week last, as we’ve been churning out lots of features and reviews about some pieces of software that came out this week…)

Next: Build a new house server with the VPro Core 2 Duo motherboard that arrives next week, and source a gigabit network card for the current server.

Anyone after an unmanaged 16-port 100 Mbit rackable switch, drop me a line, and we can negotiate. I seem to have one for sale…

7 Responses to 'Speed, speedier, and speediest…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Speed, speedier, and speediest…'.

  1. natalief said,

    Should that be “SpeedY, speedier, and speediest…” ? ;-p

  2. andrewducker said,

    Interesting.


    and

    from Telewest cable.

    Why do you need a gigabit connection for that kind of speed? That’s significantly less than 100MBit after all.

  3. sbisson said,

    Internal network traffic – I back up several tens of gigs of data a night from the server to our house NAS. Then we also stream video and music from the NAS to our media devices…

  4. mdlbear said,

    Interesting. I only signed up for 384/128, so they must have bumped my upload speed while I wasn’t looking.

    Gigabit at home is nice, especially when you’re slinging large chunks of raw audio around. Or installing Debian from your local mirror… I need a bigger switch for the rack and a couple more small ones, but I’m waiting for the price to go down.

  5. stillcarl said,



    None too impressive, though local download speeds almost double late at night. These tests done late Sunday morning here.

  6. andrewducker said,

    Ooh – what media devices do you use?

    I have a KISS DP-1500 DVD player/ethernet streamer which I find very useful. The only thing I wish is that it supported UPNP-AV, because then I could use a NAS to stream from it rather than needing the PC to be on.

  7. twinfair said,

    Never too sure exactly what these figures mean, and certainly never know what they should be. I am on a 1 meg NTL Cable service.

    🙂


Leave a Reply

