Simon’s Backup Weblog


Wonderful are the ways of the Interweb…

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on November 18, 2006

I spotted a little unusual traffic on one of my pictures on Flickr. It had suddenly gone from the usual 10 or 20 views I get for an unlinked picture to over 2800 – in less than a day! This was quite surprising, as it wasn’t even the best of the photos that I took that day…

So I did a little ego-surfing on Technorati to find out why, and I discovered that it seems to have become an internet meme in Argentina. Several popular blogs are linking to it, including a Spanish language site, Meneame, that seems to be a bit of a cross between Metafilter and Digg.

It’s interesting to explore a whole new side of the web, one in a language I can only just tease out some meaning from basic French, rudimentary Portuguese and a pile of context. It makes you realise that there’s a lot more to the online world than out little anglophone corner.

Big in Buenos Aires…

One Response to 'Wonderful are the ways of the Interweb…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Wonderful are the ways of the Interweb…'.

  1. whumpdotcom said,

    I added the “don’t turn this off” photo to my Del.icio.us cache and saw several people pick it up off of that.


Leave a Reply

