Simon’s Backup Weblog


Download of the Day: Virtual CloneDrive

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on September 21, 2006

I find myself working with a lot of ISO files these days. It’s an easy way for software companies to ship betas and trial code. Most of the time, though, I don’t want to burn the disks to install the software. ISOs are disk images, and there are software tools to mount them as virtual drives on your PC.

Microsoft’s free tool is good, as is Daemon Tools. But they don’t work on Vista.

Then I came across Virtual CloneDrive. It’s small, free, and works on pretty much every Windows box and version I’ve tried it on – including Windows Vista RC1.

Well worth downloading.

I’m still not sure what it is with the sheep…

7 Responses to 'Download of the Day: Virtual CloneDrive'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Download of the Day: Virtual CloneDrive'.

  1. nalsa said,

    Oooh! Handy!

  2. nmg said,

    I’m still not sure what it is with the sheep…

    Dolly, perhaps?

  3. sbisson said,

    Doh! I should have thought of that!

  4. cobrabay said,

    Oooh! Thanks for posting that, looks handy.

  5. andrewducker said,

    I ended up installing Daemon Tools yesterday – could have done with that!

  6. spride said,

    Were I to observe, with amusement, that OS X has the ability to mount ISOs as volumes built-in, you’d probably hit me, right?

  7. betameme said,

    Looks like it costs money ($39.00) after 21 days…


Leave a Reply

