Simon’s Backup Weblog


Vitrified

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on September 17, 2006

I’ve finally worked out why I’m now getting Aero Glass on one of my Windows Vista test beds, my Toshiba M200 Tablet PC. Its Nvidia Go5200 video card only has 32MB of on-board memory, so shouldn’t meet the 128MB minimum video RAM requirement…

Surprisingly Nvidia has done something rather innovative with its latest Vista drivers, and the Go5200 now uses shared memory. Which means it can take a chunk of the tablet’s 1GB of RAM, and bootstrap itself up into using Vista’s high-end graphics modes.

A nifty hack.

The combination of Vista’s search-based UI, Aero Glass, and the M400 Toshiba driver hack (and now the 2007 Office Beta 2 Technical Refresh) have given a nearly three year old laptop a new lease of life.

I still want a Core Duo Toshiba M400, though…

4 Responses to 'Vitrified'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Vitrified'.

  1. anonymous said,

    What version of the NVidia drivers are you using? I’m running Vista RTM on my M200 with NVidia 96.85. I used the modified inf from here to install. I get the Aero Glass effect but whenever I try to run the Windows Experience Index refresh it crashes my display drivers.

    jeff

  2. sbisson said,

    I’m using the recent release that came through Microsoft update.

  3. anonymous said,

    all i had to do to my nvidi go5200 was select update the driver then select from a list and uncheck show compatable hardware and choes nvidia go6400(WDDM) and installed it and i have all the aero features full screen resolution and it works great.

  4. swith_drawn said,

    Huh, I’m having a hard enough time getting the rotation utility to work with hacked updated nVidia drivers under Windows XP, as the OEM drivers from Toshiba are rather old. Maybe I should upgrade to Vista? =)


Leave a Reply

