Simon’s Backup Weblog


So that’s natto?

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on September 17, 2006

Dinner on Friday night for ‘s birthday at Abeno in Museum Street. It’s an okonomiyaki restaurant, serving what can best be described as a Japanese cross between a Spanish omelette and a large pancake.

The restaurant mixes up a batter of cabbage, egg and yam flour (with spring onions, ginger and tempura crumbs stirred in), adds all sorts of ingredients, ranging from pork, prawns or squid to lotus root, salmon, kimchi and kobe beef, and then cooks it all on the table in front of you. It’s all rather good – and very filling (especially if you take the option with the added noodles). One of the starters was a small okonomiyaki with natto…

Natto is/are fermented soy beans. Apparently they’re not very nice, so I’d been avoiding them up to now. However, I seemed to like them. In fact, I’d actually eaten them before, just without knowing what I was eating!

Ah well…

10 Responses to 'So that’s natto?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'So that’s natto?'.

  1. guybles said,

    I do like okonomiyaki (a Japanese friend of mine made it for me, and said the nearest British equivalent would be fish and chips, in terms of the place it occupies in the Japanese gastronomic pantheon). So, thanks for the tip – I shall try to remember to look it up next time I’m in London.

  2. palfrey said,

    I haven’t had okonomiyaki, but having seen and eaten what the Dutch do to pancakes, I think I’ve got a fair guess..

  3. tanais said,

    And there was me thinking you’d been shoppigng at the German equivalent of Lidl…

  4. sbisson said,

    There’s also a similar Korean dish, but the only place I’ve eaten that was in New Zealand…

  5. sbisson said,

    Ah yes, and there’s also the US variant in the shape of IHOP.

  6. sbisson said,

    Heh heh

  7. spride said,

    > The restaurant mixes up a batter of cabbage, egg and batter

    Recursion alert: recursion detected in recursion.

  8. sbisson said,

    Doh.

    That should be “Yam flour”. Edited!

  9. grey_lady said,

    I had a meal there within the last several weeks – I found it slightly pricey (but hey, it’s London) but the food was good.

  10. jhaelan said,

    Same here, I had a friend of the family make it (with ingredients he brought back from Japan no less) and it was smashing


Leave a Reply

