Simon’s Backup Weblog


Burning Lorries Give You So Much More

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on September 9, 2006

Somewhere up ahead is a burning lorry. I can’t see any smoke, but it has stranded us (like so many others) here on the M40, somewhere near Banbury.

I may be on a motorway in a white van full of furniture, but at least I have connectivity.

And a reasonably appropriate user icon…

7 Responses to 'Burning Lorries Give You So Much More'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Burning Lorries Give You So Much More'.

  1. white_hart said,

    Not fun 😦

    I once spent four hours stuck on that same stretch, northbound. All I had was a mobile phone and Radio 4, though. And some pasta salad, but no fork.

  2. andrewducker said,

    The funny thing is that Lilian’s cats are in the same traffic jam…

  3. razorsmile said,

    Technology moves in a mysterious way, its wonders to perform?

  4. sbisson said,

    It would be amusing if she’d been the person sat in the small car next to us for most of the jam, talking on the phone, who I kept thinking “That looks like …”

    We finally escaped just after 2100. Which meant our 1830 eta for furniture deliveries ended up as nearer 2300…

  5. sbisson said,

    Radio 2 in our case, and a phone that did data with an LJ client installed on it, oh and ‘s latest book… I kept submitting new songs to the “alternative national anthem” thing they had going on, and got my name read out (and pronounced even more wrong than usual!) with my choice of Billy Bragg songs…

  6. andrewducker said,

    It was just the cats going down yesterday, but she got a call from the driver saying he was stuck in a traffic jam on the M40. The cats arrived about 2 and a half hours later, I think.

  7. sbisson said,

    Bleep. Crackle. Whirr.

    I am a cyborg. I couldn’t live without mobile data…


Leave a Reply

