Simon’s Backup Weblog


The (not so secret) life of birds

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on July 4, 2006

Walking through Embankment Gardens, I just watched a young thrush taking a cooling shower in a fountain…

A most unexpected behaviour.

[Edit: what was unespected was the fact that it was darting in and out of an intermittent fountain – coming in when it was active, moving out when it wasn’t. So it was aware of the pattern and watching for changes.]

7 Responses to 'The (not so secret) life of birds'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'The (not so secret) life of birds'.

  1. ramtops said,

    why unexpected?

  2. natalief said,

    That’s what I was going to ask. Birdbath anyone? 😉

  3. sbisson said,

    It was the fact that it was darting in and out of an intermittent fountain – coming in when it was active, moving out when it wasn’t. So it was aware of the pattern and watching for changes.

  4. sbisson said,

    It was the fact that it was darting in and out of an intermittent fountain – coming in when it was active, moving out when it wasn’t. So it was aware of the pattern and watching for changes.

    Joy of moblogged posts with lack of detail!

  5. elimloth said,

    Well, if birds can deduce the grammar of song speech, it should be bird’s play to determine the pattern of a fountain spray.

  6. natalief said,

    Ooo clever. I know birds used to dart in and out of my grandpa’s fountain when I was a child and have watched them do that in the fountain in the Abbey Gardens on Tresco but never noticed them timing the darting before. I also know that my mum’s cocatiel loves to be sprayed with water – something to do with coming from a tropical climate originally (the species, not Bluey himself!), I think. I also know that maccaws love to be sperayed and actually loved the light rain that was happening when I took this userpic. 😉

  7. ianmcdonald said,

    strangely enough, I feel I may have missed you by moments, as I was prading down towards Embarkment underground at around that time, on that day


Leave a Reply

