Simon’s Backup Weblog


Using the tools at our fingertips…

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on February 7, 2006

I’ve finally worked out what happens in the middle of “Hummingbird Futures”, and working on the scene where the tramp reappears, outside San Francisco Public Library (before going in and looking at the records of the Golden Gate Raptor Observatory which will be where he finds the pointer to the location of the bad guy). I’d originally decided to have him fade in, sitting on a concrete bench, ready to go in through the library doors.

And then I realised – I couldn’t remember if there were concrete benches there. I’ve driven around the Civic Plaza many times (usually looking fro somewhere to park when going to Citizen Cake), but I just wasn’t sure if the benches I’d vaguely remembered were there.

What to do? I could IM a couple of folks I know who live in SF, and who were online. But they’re in a different part of town.

The solution was simple. I fired up Google Earth, typed in “san francisco public library” and clicked “fly to”. A quick zoom, and a spin around the building, and it was clear there weren’t any benches. However, there were steps. A solution. And a new tool for my writing arsenal.

And now, back to the story…

2 Responses to 'Using the tools at our fingertips…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Using the tools at our fingertips…'.

  1. razorsmile said,

    The solution was simple. I fired up Google Earth, typed in “san francisco public library” and clicked “fly to”. A quick zoom, and a spin around the building, and it was clear there weren’t any benches.

    Brilliant.

  2. tanais said,

    Oddly enough I was there under a week ago. Lovely place. Had a read of a 1920’s reprint of a 1890s book dismissing the Leonberger as “A giant mongrel of no real value or worth…”

    Quite a lot to browse. A good library — a bit High tech, but still wonderful. Shame the last but one ownder had a load of the books destroyed (lost his job over that incident).

    I like the fact that the walls have old library cards on them with peoples comments written on the cards. I have a photo somewhere from my phone…


Leave a Reply

