Simon’s Backup Weblog


It’s time to begin the USB Arms Race!

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on December 3, 2005

Marks and Spencer are selling USB missile launchers.

Powered by your mac or pc, you’ll have hours of flying fun with these USB air darts. Let the mission begin!

Now you know what to get me for Christmas!

Computer controlled too… Pity there’s no targeting web cam hooked up to it, though I suspect that it wouldn’t be too difficult, especially with the USB hardware controllers and drivers from the folks at Phidgets.

Reminds me of the Nerf gun wars back in my dot.com days at Scient. I kept things around my corner of the office under control when I got my Nerf gatling gun. Shoot me with a dart? Get a full salvo of 25 right back…

7 Responses to 'It’s time to begin the USB Arms Race!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'It’s time to begin the USB Arms Race!'.

  1. moral_vacuum said,

    If they did a real one, I’d buy it for

  2. spride said,

    *when* it worked….

  3. micheinnz said,

    OMG _WANT_!

    That would be _perfect_ for my desk at work!

  4. lostcarpark said,

    I just have to have one!

  5. pouchedfox said,

    I said the same thing this morning to someone about that,
    “it begs for the guts of a webcam and some cross hairs to be
    modded onto it for targeting”

  6. sclerotic_rings said,

    You used to work at Scient? You poor child. (I had one interview in the place just before it went em-see-squared, and it was amazing how many applicants were disqualified because they somehow told the interviewer “I’m from outer space”, and that the only people who weren’t happened to be college buddies of said interviewer.)

  7. anonymous said,

    Unfortunately M&S do not ship abroad, and these items are in such limited stock that they have been on & off their website, and they are both ot of stock online and in many stores. However, there is always ebay http://cgi.ebay.com/USB-AIR-DART-missile-launcher-3-darts-missiles_W0QQitemZ8733886331QQcategoryZ1182QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem


Leave a Reply

