Simon’s Backup Weblog


Glass Swims On Glass

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on November 16, 2005

Glass Swims On Glass
Originally uploaded by sbisson.

More Chihuly glass works, again from his bridge at Tacoma’s Museum Of Glass. This time, looking up…

Chihuly’s glass ceilings often resemble fantastic seascapes, coral reefs of glass that spread out in inverted splendour. The bridge takes things further, the glass works laid on glass, allowing Chihuly to layer additional forms.

Here, like a mutant “Finding Nemo”, pixarian shapes slide over and around glass shelves and jellies…

A wonderful view. One I could have looked at for hours.

Tacoma. November 2005

3 Responses to 'Glass Swims On Glass'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Glass Swims On Glass'.

  1. srallen said,

    It’s even better in the summer:

    I found it really funny, the last time I went, to watch people setting up tripods and standing still, very carefully lining up every shot just so even as I just walked through with my point and shoot pointed upwards, holding down the shutter at random moments.

  2. sbisson said,

    Yes, we’re going to have to come back in the summer. If only to see the starfish at Alki Point…

  3. rowanf said,

    This is so lovely. I’ve looked at all the pictures on his website. I’d really like to get to see this myself! Thank you for sharing your pix!


Leave a comment