Simon’s Backup Weblog


The threads that bind the world together

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on October 27, 2005

There are email mailing lists that dare not speak their name. Or at least not unless you know that the person you’re talking to knows about it.

One in particular is full of alumni from a certain Silicon Valley company, and it’s interesting how many people we meet are on that list. I’ve even heard stories of people only realising who the other was when they when a list thread came up in conversation. “Oh, you’re X! Ah…”

Is it something about companies that their employees believed in that lends itself to coherent post-employment communities?

Only one of my ex-employers has built such a community – and it’s something to say that the mailing lists are soon about to rival the now-defunct company for longevity! It was a company that prided itself on its employee community, with Chief Morale Officers in each office, and regular social events (then, again the way we worked there, our fellow employees were our only social life!).

Just noodling…

2 Responses to 'The threads that bind the world together'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'The threads that bind the world together'.

  1. pigeonhed said,

    About a decade or more ago, I was at a convention in Glasgow. Late one night I was in a conversation with two friends and an Irish Guy. As we talked I was massaging one friend’s feet. After some time Irish Guy suddenly blurted out: ‘Foot massage? You must be X!’ He and I had swapped zines, locs, apa contributions etc for at least 6 years at this point but never met. Oddly it hadn’t occurred to me that Irish Guy who knew my friend might be Y at all.

  2. zotz said,

    I’m still in touch with various people I worked with in Hinxton. It’s not just computing, or even just the private sector.


Leave a comment