Simon’s Backup Weblog


Googlemail

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on October 19, 2005

It looks as though googlemail.com is a straight alias for gmail.com.

I haven’t set up a googlemail.com address for my standard alias – but mail sent to it at googlemail.com turns up in my gmail.com mailbox…

Not sure if the reverse is true, but it wouldn’t surprise me. Especially if what happened in Germany happens in the UK.

6 Responses to 'Googlemail'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Googlemail'.

  1. ang_grrr said,

    I’ve just logged into my gmail account as @googlemail.com instead and it worked.

    I thought my title bar looked funny this morning.

  2. fba said,

    It already has…

  3. sbisson said,

    That’s why did the experiment!

    Reports from Germany indicate that all new googlemail.com addresses are also gmail.com…

  4. fba said,

    I’m guessing that Google are preparing to loose gmail.com altogether…

    It all seems a bit odd to me – Google own the domain gmail.com so I see no reason why they cam’t carry on using it for GoogleMail accounts. Gmail/Googlemail is just branding after all…

  5. sbisson said,

    There’s a lot of money at stake…

  6. vampwillow said,

    trouble is, can you imagine the onward chaos if it ends up that if your SLD is the same as that of someone else *in a different country to where you are based* and you have to give up your SLD (despite the TLD being different)!

    It would make the availability of multiple TLDs totally pointless …


Leave a Reply

