Simon’s Backup Weblog


An alternative to Bloglines?

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on October 7, 2005

Google has just launched its beta RSS reader. An online tool like Bloglines, it imports OPML lists of your RSS feeds from your existing readers and seems to display full text feeds in an AJAX browser. There’s filtering and search as well (which is what you’d expect from the folk at Google).

You will need a Google account to use it. Not surprising, as it stores subscription information.

I’ll be playing with it over the next few days – once I’ve persuaded it to import my blogroll…

Update: This is looking very interesting, with keyboard controls and a “lens” UI for the reader.

6 Responses to 'An alternative to Bloglines?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'An alternative to Bloglines?'.

  1. neilf said,

    I have to say I like this, great as an ‘away from home’ news reader.

    Won’t replace Vienna as my primary reader, but definitely use it when I don’t have my laptop with me.

    – Neil.

  2. lpetrazickis said,

    Doesn’t work in Opera 8.5. Looks like I’ll be sticking with Bloglines for now.:(

    Looks interesting in Firefox. A bit laggy.:P

  3. andrewducker said,

    If I hadn’t adjusted to using LJ for my RSS reader I might be tempted.

  4. andrewducker said,

    Oh, and I might move across some of the less interesting ones to there – see if it works better for the ones I scan quikly.

  5. ianbetteridge said,

    Try NewsGator Online – http://www.newsgator.com. The web-only service is free, but you can also pay a small subscription and sync multiple desktop clients if you prefer viewing your RSS offline (you get the clients as part of the subscription – NewsGator for Outlook, FeedDemon, and soon NetNewsWire for Mac)

  6. sbisson said,

    OH, I’m a long term NewsGator user – I just really, really dislike its web UI.

    Roll on the release of the integrated FeedDemon. At this point it sounds like its sync is a little too buggy to try…


Leave a Reply

