Simon’s Backup Weblog


End of an era

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on August 12, 2005

I have just unloaded the last of my now worthless shares in my dot-com era employer, the one-time eBusiness consultancy Scient.

11 Responses to 'End of an era'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'End of an era'.

  1. alexmc said,

    Thanks for this news. It kind of makes me feel a bit better for not being the managing director of a DotCom success story.

  2. sclerotic_rings said,

    You used to work for Scient? You poor child. I went in for an interview with Scient in 1999, and knew something was up when the only people interviewed who weren’t rejected as having said that “they were from outer space” were graduates of SMU’s business and advertising programs. After hearing what happened later, I was damn glad that I didn’t get the job.

  3. fba said,

    The company I got made redundant from have been bought and merged and came out of the .com boom as Pipex…

    They seem to be doing alright – which never fails to amaze me…

  4. stillcarl said,

    You didn’t think to try and sell them on eBay as “worthless but priceless mementoes of the .dom era!”? Or is that how you managed ot offload them? 🙂

  5. stillcarl said,

    Hee – “.dom”. There ought to be “.dum” domains…

  6. jaq said,

    But have you unloaded the branded clothing and merchandise?

  7. daveon said,

    Ah… Scient… so many meetings so little work.

    There were so many baby -ients too.

    Vient were another f**ked company IIRC.

  8. sbisson said,

    Oh, I still even have ECsoft branded clothing…

  9. sbisson said,

    Heh…

    To be honest I was very busy a lot of the time – I think the UK office was rather different from the US…

  10. sbisson said,

    Oh, it’s difficult to refuse someone headhunting you and doubling your salary…

    It wasn’t too bad on the tech side of things, and in Europe. I got to see chunks of the world and do interesting projects…

  11. sbisson said,

    Ah, if only. They were held by some US securities firm that I didn’t even know had them…


Leave a Reply

