Simon’s Backup Weblog


Useful application of the day: Synergy

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on August 2, 2005

Synergy is a rather nifty little tool that allows you to share a mouse and keyboard between several PCs. As it’s a software tool it also allows you to share clipboards between your machines – so you can cut and paste from one machine to another, avoiding all that tedious file transfer…

It’s easy enough to set up – the same code acts as server and client.

Just choose the machine that’ll be the server (I use my desktop), and then the machines that will be the clients – choosing where they’ll be in relation to the server screen. As I’m using it with a desktop and laptop, the server is my main PC, with the laptop a client off to the right of the server screen.

Hooking my laptop to my main PC means I now have a 4.3 million pixel desktop.

2 Responses to 'Useful application of the day: Synergy'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Useful application of the day: Synergy'.

  1. vampwillow said,

    OMG .. if that works as advertised that is *so* what I need …

    will test at the weekend I think 😉

  2. sethop said,

    Ah hah! I remember seeing somebody using this ages ago and thinking it was cool, but by the time it got to the point where I could usefully use it, I’d forgotten where I saw it or what it was called. And I see it’s GPL. Woot!


Leave a Reply

