Simon’s Backup Weblog


2001 Explained (sort of)

Posted in Uncategorized by Simon Bisson on July 29, 2005

If you ever got bogged down in Kubrick and Clarke’s masterpiece, then try this rather spectacular piece of Flash that attempts to explain just what’s going on…

I don’t agree with chunks of the thesis of this piece, but then I’ve read Lost Worlds Of 2001, which goes a long way to showing what Clarke and Kubrick were aiming for…

4 Responses to '2001 Explained (sort of)'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to '2001 Explained (sort of)'.

  1. andrewducker said,

    I found that reading 2001 did a pretty good job of explaining it to me…

  2. ramtops said,

    I’ve never had any problem whatsoever in understanding 2001.

    watched that for a few moments, and then gave up – it struck us as dull and patronising, and *breathtakingly* slow.

  3. ramtops said,

    that should, of course, have read *and I*.

    not unlike Withnail and I, in many respects.

  4. natalief said,

    Well, that was exactly how I understood it when it was first on TV as a child (age 7? I am 37 now). My parents did not understand it at all at the time even though dad was an Asimov reader.


Leave a Reply

